Van Buren Public Transit Governance & Funding


Van Buren Public Transit is organized under Public Act 94 and is governed by five appointed officials.  All of the members are appointed by the Van Buren County Board of Commissioners.     

Location of the Van Buren Transit Board Meetings

Regular meetings are scheduled on the third Thursday of the month at 10:00 am at the Van Buren Public Transit headquarters located at 610 David Walton Drive in Bangor.  Public transportation is available to the meeting by Van Buren Public Transit, call dispatch to request a ride.  

Public Participation at Meetings

Public comment is always welcome.  Please call Van Buren Public Transit for more information at 269-427-7921 or 1-800-828-2015  


Van Buren Public Transit receives funding from several sources: Countywide Public Transit Millage; Fares; the State of Michigan; the Federal Transit Administration.


2016 Budget 2015 Budget
2014 Budget 2013 Budget



The Audited Financial Report was prepared in accordance with Governmental Auditing Standards.  The Report includes the Management's Discussion and Analysis, the Statement of Net Assets, the Statement of Revenues, Expenses and Changes in Fund Net Assets, the Statement of Cash Flows and the Notes to Financial Statements can be found.

Board Members

  • Yemi Akinwale
  • John Clement
  • William Myrkle
  • County Commissioner, Kurt Doroh
  • County Commissioner, Richard Freestone